Art Journals, sketches, TV sketches, watercolors. Read: guilty pleasures, fixations and obsessions.

Filling In

101312 harbor activity

Noodler’s Bulletproof Black in a leaky Pilot Penmanship and watercolor
A5 Moleskine watercolor notebook. 13 Oct. 2012

Looking back at my sketchbooks and seeing the huge gap of time where I neglected to post my sketching efforts, I’ve decided to try to fill in the gaps with drawing experiences that made me especially happy. The inference is that some sketch sessions don’t make me feel great. Although that’s unfortunately true, those grumpy sessions are few and far between.

This Portland (Maine) Harbor sketch was really fun to do. I took the footpath from East End Beach to get a view of the Ocean Gateway Terminal, where a huge cruise ship was disgorging hungry passengers to the many excellent Old Port restaurants. I’m a bit shy when sketching alone in public, so I try not to attract attention and don’t make a big production of whipping out my drawing supplies. This day, I had hardly put pencil to paper to block in the basics in my notebook when I was interrupted by a friendly cruise ship couple who wanted to have a look at my work!

Leave a Reply

